Expressive Type Tests

I did a few tests for my concepts for the Expressive Type assignment, so I’m posting them here!

Two different takes on a ‘between’ concept. I preferred the one with lower case in the middle, as the separation seemed better.

The first two attempts at my ‘surface’ concept — which was, initially, to have the font emerging from the water, or surfacing. However, I felt having the waves was too literal and bordered on adding imagery to the poster, so I tried lightening the font up to make it look more boyant. I didn’t really like how that looked.

I tried a font, then, that looked like the stenciled font on a life preserver, which I think worked alright, but it lost something in the process; it became harder to read. So I went back to Impact, which I thought looked the strongest graphically, but removed the waves. To me, now, it looks more like something strong surfacing from earth, like dinosaur bones being discovered, and I like that.

Leave a Reply

